Anders WALL Award


Anders Wall Foundation from Stockholm in association with the European Commission, Directorate General for the Environment, Brussels, the Royal Swedish Academy of Agriculture and Forestry and the "Friends of the Countryside", has decided to introduce an award for individuals who have made a special contribution to the rural environment within the European Union.

Description of the Award


Anders Wall Award grants a prize to private individuals who have made a special contribution to the rural environment within the European Union.

Eligibility criteria:

-          Only private enterprises can enter the competition.

-          Their actions must be of importance at multiple levels: local, national and/or European.

-          The actions must be based on the use of quality instruments and management practices which contribute to the improvement of the quality of the environment.


Selection criteria:

Their achievements should preferably include the following elements:

-          Preserving and enhancing the landscape.

-          Providing biodiversity.

-          Preserving the countryside's cultural heritage.

-          Contributing to sustainable economic local development.


Prize description:

The landowner of the selected project will receive a prize of €20,000.


The call for applications is currently closed.

Award Winners 

2003 - Barritskov, Denmark. Thomas Harttung 

2004 - Herdade do Pinheiro, Portugal. Jacqueline Violet 

2005 - Les Salins du Midi, France. Gerard Dumonteil 

2006 - Agriturismo Cassinazza, Italy. Giuseppe Natta 

2007 - Clinton Devon Estate, United Kingdom. Lord Clinton 

2008 - Jarras-Listel Estate, France. Paul-Francois Vranken 

2009 - Wrams Gunnarstorp Estates, Sweden. Rudolf Tornerhjelm 

2010 - Escrick Park Estate, England. Charles Forbes Adam

2011 - Jaunumuli Estate , Latvia. Kalnins Madars 

2012 - Järvikyla Estate, Finland. Karl Grotenfelt 

2013 - Danilovka Estate, Russia. Michail Orlov 

2014 - Heihuyzen Estate, Belgium. Christophe Lenaerts 

2015 - Castelo Melhor Estate, Portugal. João Portugal Ramos and José Maria Soares Franco 

2016 - Winner of prize: The Honourable Evelyn Boscawen, Tregothnan Estate, United Kingdom; Winner of diploma: Fernando de Andrada-Vanderwilde Contreras,  Puerto Bajo de la Cereceda Estate, Spain.

Contact Us

Friends of the Countryside ASBL

67, Rue de Trèves

B-1040 Brussels


Phone: +32 (0)

Fax: +32 (0)

About Us

Friends of the Countryside represents the custodians of European estates and the traditional industries, patrimony, and heritage in their stewardship.



with the support of:                                                                              logo df                                      LGT PB Logo cmyk